NEWSTALK BREAKFAST SHOW – WHERE DO THEY GET OFF?

I’ve lately taken to listening to Newstalk Radio’s breakfast show on my way to work in the mornings.  Generally, I enjoy listening to there show, due mainly to its easy listening style of delivering the news.  However, sometimes the presenters Ger Gilroy and Claire Byrne really get on my nerves!!  Basically, if I wanted their personal sensationalist opinion I’d ask them for it.  Really!!  How self-important are they to think that what they think about a certain issue will in someway sway my thinking on it?  That’s why they bring people in to interview them, to offer their “expert” opinion.  It seems to me that the only thing that they are expert in is stirring any pot which happens to pass their way.  Now, this in itself is bad enough, but the “funny” “car crash” style in which they do it is actually what keeps me listening!  I mean, fair enough, make a big deal of a problem with the HSE, it deserves to be highlighted.  But, does anyone really treat an issue like election posters as anything other than tongue in cheek?  I dunno!!

~ by knightfall on May 2, 2007.

3 Responses to “NEWSTALK BREAKFAST SHOW – WHERE DO THEY GET OFF?”

  1. Have to say I agree with you. Claire seems to be much more guilty of it. Ger just wants to offer his opinions on sport.

    Have you also noticed they way they get uber-defensive when a listeners sends in a comment which goes against their opinions? They literally laugh off the listeners opinion as if it were something stupid a 3 year old said.

  2. Totally agree with you Michael. I used to think Claire Byrne was hot, but now I have to say that I just couldn’t listen to her go on and on and on and on and on and on……..

  3. there was an article in the sunday tribune about how she loved being naked ! retract those comments ye bastards !! naked i tells ya

Leave a Reply

 
